Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra: October Classical Music Concerts

Starting from October, Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra opens its 84th season, again offering series of great classical music concerts. The main venue of the events is Bulgaria Hall.

As of season 2011-2012, the famous Bulgarian conductor – Martin Panteleev is the principal conductor of Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra. The team of conductors that will perform on the stage of Bulgaria Hall also includes: Ljubka Biadggioni, Luba Pesheva and Ilia Mihaylov.

Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra’s repertoire comprises both classical and contemporary opuses, and always includes premieres of Bulgarian works.  Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra includes the National Philharmonic Orchestra, the National Philharmonic Choir “Svetoslav Obretenov” and “Sofia”, with director Angel Stankov.

Traditionally the programme is organized in several music cycles (series of classical music concerts). In 2012 the series of classical music concerts are 4: Organ Pallette Autumn, Sofia, Culture, Europe, Classical and Romantic, Sunday Classic.

On October 4th classical music concerts season will be opened with the First concert from the series Classical and Romantic. The concert will be dedicated to the 75th anniversary from the building of the Bulgaria Hall. The principal conductor will be Martin Panteleev and the soloist will be Elena Tchavdarova – ISA (mezzo soprano). In the concert will also participate the National Philharmonic Choir “Svetoslav Obretenov” and the children vocal group Pim-Pam.

The rest of the October programme of Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra features  the following classical music concerts:

Concerts are listed in date order

4 October 2012, 7 p.m. 
First Concert (Programme:  Gustav Mahler – Symphony No 3)

11 October 2012, 7 p.m.
Second Concert from the series Classical and Romantic
Conductor: Konstantin Ilievsky
Soloist: Georgi Tcherkin, piano

Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky – Fantasia “Francesca da Rimini” Overture
Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky / Georgi Tcherkin – “Le quattro stagioni” – for Piano and Orchestra
Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky – Suite from “Swan Lake” Ballet

7 October 2012, 5 p.m.
First Concert from the series Sunday Classic
Conductor and Soloist: Pavel Zlatarov

Antonio Vivaldi – Le quattro stagionni
Joseph Haydn – Symphony N104 D major

19 October, 2012, 7 p.m.
Third Concert from the series Classical and Romantic
Conductor: Rosen Milanov


Mila Georgieva, Violin
Dilyana Momtchilova, Cello
Milena Zlatarova, Viola

Zoltan Kodaly – Dances of Galanta
Maurice Ravel– Tzigane
Pablo Sarasate– Zigeneweisen
Richard Strauss – “Don Quixote, оp. 35

22 October 2012, 7 p.m.
Baroque Ensembles from the series Organ Pallette Autumn

Velin Iliev- Organ
Valtchan Valtchanov – Oboe
Valentin Gerov – Viola

Johann Pachelbel –  „Was Gott tun, das ist wohlgetan”Choral Partita
Marin Marais –  Fantasia for Viola and Organ
George Frideric Handel –  Sonata in B flat major for Oboe and Continuo (Allegro – Grave – Allegro)
Georg Philipp Telemann – Sonata in E minor for Viola and Continuo (Cantabile-Allegro-Recitativo. Arioso-Vivace)
Johann Ludwig Krebs – Fantasia for Oboe and Organ
Johann Sebastian Bach –  „Komm, Heiliger Geist, Herre Gott” BWV 651 Choral Fantasia
Georg Philipp Telemann – Trio Sonata in C minor for Oboe, Viola and Contituo
Johann Sebastian Bach  –  Prelude and Fugue in C minor BWV 546

25 October 2012, 7 p.m.
Fourth Concert from the series Classical and Romantic
Conductor: Ljubka Biadggioni, Germany

”Die Zauberflöte” Opera-Overture, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Аrias from Operas:
Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No 3 “Eroica” E flat major, оp.55

28 October 2012, 5 p.m.
Second Concert from the series Sunday Classic
Conductor: Ilia Mihaylov
Gioacchino Rossini– “ Petit messe Solennele”
With the participarion of National Philharmonic Choir “Svetoslav Obretenov”

Velin Iliev, Organ
Stefan Vrachev, Piano
Biser Genev, Piano


Tickets can be purchased online from Ticket Plus or from Bulgaria Concer Hall (1 Aksakov Str.)
Webpage of Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra
Full programme of the  Classical music concerts series here